Beetballs + An Italian Feast

Well I stayed good on my word this weekend. We spent some time in the sun relaxing. Firstly, at the markets on Saturday and secondly we went for a walk at Mt Cootha and sat in the sun afterwards.

DSC00103

It was a beautiful day for getting it out, bright blue sky and the perfect temperature. We walked to the Summit and then came back down and had a coffee in the sun. I think buying a Thermos has been one of our best purchases! We’ve been using it a bit lately. I wish we had packed a picnic, but we got up late and didn’t have time.

DSC00116

I love the view from Mt Cootha, it’s so beautiful. It reminds me of how we live in such a beautiful city. It’s so leafy and green! I love the feel of Brisbane. It’s like a country city! Perfect for me.

Brisbane city

At the moment I’ve been really trying to recreate old recipes into new Plant Based recipes! So I’ve done alfredo, mousse, and a macaroni recently. Basically, whenever I crave something, or think about a food I used to eat that I want to eat again, I try and make it into a plant based meal. Yesterday, I created a type of meatballs. Sam affectionately named them ‘Beetballs’.

Beetballs Info

Saturday and Sunday lunch, we had them on bread.

DSC00083

But for Saturday dinner, I decided to make an Italian feast! I made garlic bread (with home made bread), and spaghetti and beetballs!

Beetballs Retouched2

Want the recipe?

Here you go:

Beetballs

These are great as meatballs for spaghetti or on a sandwich/wrap/sub!

  • 1 cup brazil nuts
  • 3/4 cup almond nuts
  • 3 small beetroots, grated
  • 1 cup of mashed potato
  • 2 medium carrots, grated
  • 1/2 cup breadcurmbs
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tsp Italian herbs
  • 1.5 tbsp tamari
  • 1/8 tsp liquid smoke (optional, but worth it!)
  • salt and pepper
  • oil for frying
  1. Soak the nuts for a few hours or overnight
  2. Blend the nuts in a Vitamix or food processor until crumbly.
    used my Vitamix to ‘grate’ all the vegies, but once that’s done put them all in a bowl and mix together.
  3. Add in the breadcrumbs, garlic, Italian herbs, tamari, liquid smoke and salt and pepper.
  4. Mix thoroughly. The mixture shouldn’t be too wet, if it is, add in some flour.
  5. Let the mixture sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes
  6. Form the mixture into little balls and pan fry until lightly browned on the outside.

Beetballs Retouched3

Leave a comment