How to store green leafy vegetables and herbs

Growing up, I absolutely hated lettuce. Wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole, and could taste even the tiniest amount of that pesky iceburg lettuce on my burger. It wasn’t until I was around 21 that I actually started to eat a bit of spinach, slowly. And now? I drink green smoothies for breakfast, salads for lunch and steamed kale for dinner! What a change! I still don’t like iceburg lettuce, but spinach, kale, watercress, rocket, chard, silverbeet etc I can do.

One thing I’ve found though is that they wilt so quickly! I tried so many different ways of storing green leafies, but nothing worked! If I didn’t eat them within a couple of days they were slimy and/or wilted. And nobody got time for that.

Now though, I have found the perfect way to store them to make them last the week! Even herbs like basil and coriander stay fresh all week now!

You will need:

  • Green leafy vegetables
  • Paper towels
  • Water
  • Small plastic bags
  1. Start out by laying out a few paper towels.
  2. Drip some water over the paper towels until they are damp
    Wet paper towels

    Wet paper towels

     

  3. Place the green leafy vegetables or herbs on one end of the wet paper towels.

    Put the leafies on the wet paper towel

    Put the leafies on the wet paper towel

  4. Wrap up the green leafy vegetables/herbs.

    Wrap it up nice and snug

    Wrap it up nice and snug

  5. Place in a plastic bag and then refrigerate.
    Place in a plastic bag

    Place in a plastic bag

    Put in the fridge

    Put in the fridge

  6. Every time you use the vegetables/herbs re-wet the paper towels and re-wrap.
  7. Enjoy your green leafies for longer!

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to store green leafy vegetables and herbs

Leave a comment