10 things I love about juice fasting

Pear Pie Delight

Pear Pie Delight

We’ve almost completed Day 12 now, only 3 more days to go! Sam and I have drafted up some recipes and a meal plan for the next few weeks to try and enforce our healthy eating. We had started to drift more and more into eating out, especially just before the cleanse. I’m not as hungry anymore, I rarely get hungry, I’ve even thought about not having a juice or two.

I’ve had a lot of people enquire about our juice fast and so I thought I’d put together a list of 10 things I love about doing the juice fast.

  1. I’ve lost weight
    Seriously, how could this not be number one? I’ve never been overweight, but I definitely needed to lose some kgs. Since I’ve started working at my current job I’ve put on 8-10kg. Not acceptable. I was speaking with one of the girls at work today and she said she’s put on 20kg since she started. She’s been there twice as long as me. I lead quite a sedentary lifestyle nowadays, and this fast has made me realise I need to move more!
  2. My head is clearer
    I feel like I am lot more focused and productive. I’m getting a lot more things done, a lot quicker. I’m able to concentrate for longer periods of time. Before the fast, sometimes at work I would just have the mind of a goldfish, every 3 seconds I’d need to stop and try and re-focus.
  3. I’m more motivated
    I am more motivated to plant-based eating and eating cleaner and healthier than ever before. Nothing could have cemented this into me more.
  4. It’s made other people aware
    So many people have asked about how it’s going and are really interested in the effects and why I am doing it. I’ve have spoken with friends, colleagues and online acquaintances about the benefits I’ve seen since starting, and so many people have indicated they would love to do it. The best thing though, is the knowledge it has bought Sam. Everything I’ve been trying to tell him over the past year, he’s got to learn for himself. He said to me the other day, ‘I finally understand what you mean’.
  5. I’m happier
    I’m happier than I have been in as long as I can remember. It’s not that I was unhappy before, but I just feel a sense of joy within that I don’t remember having for a long time. I just feel happy. Sam has noticed it about himself also.
  6. The sleep is better
    I don’t think I’ve ever felt so rested. When I wake up in the morning it is a lot easier to get out of bed (and it’s Winter!) and I actually don’t feel tired when I do get up. Before starting on this fast, I was getting to bed later and later each night, but now I find myself getting ready and going to bed much earlier and falling asleep almost instantly. I’m also dreaming again, which I hadn’t realised I wasn’t doing beforehand. I’m told that the more vivid your dreams the deeper your sleep.
  7. I have more energy
    I feel like I’m bouncing out of my skin sometimes. It’s too bad that the juices keep my blood sugar levels so low otherwise I would be at the gym every day! That is the one downside I’ve noticed so far is that my blood sugar levels stay too low to exercise properly (too low! I know, I never thought I’d see the day).
  8. Decreased need for insulin and lower blood sugar levels
    I have never experienced such low numbers, and I don’t mean low as in hypo, I just mean low as in ‘normal’. Having type one diabetes means my blood sugar levels can bounce around like crazy, but doing this juice fast has really helped to calm it down and keep it more stable.
  9. I’ve consumed more fruit and vegetables than I would have in about a month
    I can not believe how much fruit and veggies we’ve been through. And it’s not like my juicer is yielding HUGE amounts of pulp. Leafy greens especially, I would NEVER have been able to eat this many greens in such a short space of time.
  10. I know that I’m doing something good for myself
    Knowing that I am getting such an amazing burst of nutrients, phytochemicals and enzymes is fantastic. Knowing that I’m helping to eliminate toxins and clean up my digestive system is fantastic. And knowing that I’m doing this for me and to help me live a happier, longer and healthier life is my life goal.
I love the colours of fruits. Nature's skittles

I love the colours of fruits. Nature’s skittles

2 thoughts on “10 things I love about juice fasting

  1. Wow, I’m impressed! I’ve just been reading over your juice fast blog posts. The purple passion juice looked particularly delicious.
    Have you finished? Is Sam still keen to do the additional days?!
    I’d really like to watch Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead.
    🙂

  2. Thanks for reading over my posts! We have finished now, we finished on Sunday/Monday. Sam was keen to do an additional few days, but didn’t in the end because we both had to start transitioning down to normal food again because we’ve both got events on this coming weekend!

    You should DEFINITELY watch Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead. It’s fantastic.

Leave a comment